Till Brönner

Biography

Till Brönner is Germany’s leading jazz trumpeter. While he is known for his outstanding virtuosity, he is also referred to as a ‘German Chet Baker’. Brönner studied jazz trumpet at the College of Music, Cologne. Among his prominent teachers are Prof. Malte Burba and the American jazz trumpeter Bobby Shew. His first album, Generations of Jazz, with Ray Brown, Jeff Hamilton, Frank Chastenier and Grégoire Peters, was released in 1993. Immediately it won the ‘Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik’ (German Records Criticism Award). From then on he played with international greats such as Dave Brubeck, Tony Bennett, Mark Murphy, James Moody, Monty Alexander, Nils Landgren as well as Klaus Doldinger and Joe Sample.

Brönner also composed and produced the album 17 Millimeter for Hildegard Knef in 1999, and he wrote soundtracks for documentaries like ‘Jazz Seen’ about the jazz and fashion photographer William Claxton or ‘Höllentour’ by Pepe Danquart. Further, he produced two highly praised albums of the American jazz singer Mark Murphy. This album also led to much international interest in his work. Among Brönner’s eighteen studio albums eleven are released on the legendary Universal-Label ‘Verve’. His CDs which are mostly recorded in Los Angeles have repeatedly reached gold status. His current album, The Good Life, was released on SONY in September 2016.

In 2009 Brönner contributed all trumpet parts to the cult CD Touch Yello by the famous Suisse electronic music duo ‘Yello’. In the same year Brönner was appointed professor at the College of Music Carl Maria von Weber in Dresden. Together with Prof. Malte Burba he has been teaching jazz trumpet in Dresden since winter semester 2009/10.

Next

From 2010 to 2011, Brönner was a member of the jury and mentor in the casting show ‘X Factor’, televised on VOX and RTL. Overnight he became known to a much larger public. He was asked to look after ‘the over 25s category’ and won the competition twice. He left the programme in order to concentrate on his work as a fulltime jazz musician again.

A dedicated musician, Brönner frequently goes on tour with his ensembles: a Duo with Dieter Ilg, a Septet, and, since 2015, the Till Brönner Orchestra, which includes over twenty musicians, as well as a project with the classical trumpeter Sergei Nakariakow. Brönner regularly plays on the world’s great stages, e.g., in Carnegie Hall, New York, in the Blue Note Jazz Club in Tokio and at prominent jazz festivals. In 2015 he was invited to the International Jazz Day in Paris, an initiative which originates with Herbie Hancock. In Paris he performed among the stars of contemporary jazz. A special honour was the International Jazz Day 2016 where he played for Barak Obama at the White House with Herbie Hancock, Sting, Aretha Franklin, Diana Krall, Al Jarreau, Hugh Masekela, Buddy Guy and Chick Corea, to name but a few.

Photography has been another interest in Brönner’s life. Since 2010 he has focussed increasingly on portraits which he usually takes with a ‘Leica M’ camera. His illustrated book, Faces of Talent, was published by te Neues Verlag at the end of 2014.

Since 2013, Till Brönner is a partner and testimonial with the German menswear company Eduard Dressler.

Previous

Till Brönner

Biografie

Till Brönner ist der erfolgreichste deutsche Jazztrompeter. Obwohl er als äußerst virtuos auf seinem Instrument gilt, eilt ihm der Ruf eines „deutschen Chet Baker“ nach. Brönner studierte Jazztrompete an der Hochschule für Musik Köln. Zu seinen wichtigsten Lehrern gehören Prof. Malte Burba und der amerikanische Jazz-Trompeter Bobby Shew. Sein erstes eigenes Album „Generations of Jazz“ mit Ray Brown, Jeff Hamilton, Frank Chastenier und Grégoire Peters erschien 1993 und erhielt auf Anhieb den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik. Infolge spielte er mit internationalen Jazzgrößen wie Dave Brubeck, Tony Bennett, Mark Murphy, James Moody, Monty Alexander, Nils Landgren sowie Klaus Doldinger und Joe Sample.

Des Weiteren produzierte und komponierte er für Hildegard Knef das Album „17 Millimeter“ (1999) und schrieb Soundtracks für die Dokumentationen „Jazz Seen“ über den amerikanischen Jazz- und Modefotografen William Claxton sowie „Höllentour“ von Pepe Danquart. Ebenfalls produzierte Brönner zwei in der Fachwelt hochgelobte Alben des amerikanischen Jazzsängers Mark Murphy, was ihm auch international viel Aufmerksamkeit einbrachte.

Zu Brönners 18 Studio-Alben zählen alleine elf Alben zum legendären Universal-Label „Verve“. Seine meist in Los Angeles aufgenommenen Alben erreichten wiederholt Goldstatus. Das aktuelle Album „The Good Life“ ist im September 2016 bei der SONY veröffentlicht worden.

2009 spielte Brönner alle Trompetenparts auf dem Kult-Album „Touch Yello“ des berühmten Schweizer Electronicmusic-Duos Yello ein. Im gleichen Jahr wurde Brönner zum Professor an der Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber Dresden berufen. Seit dem Wintersemester 2009/2010 lehrt er dort zusammen mit Prof. Malte Burba im Fach Jazztrompete.

Weiter

Von 2010 bis 2011 war Brönner gemeinsam mit Sarah Connor Jurymitglied und Mentor in der Castingshow „X Factor“, die auf RTL und VOX ausgestrahlt wurde. Über Nacht wurde er damit schlagartig einem größeren Publikum bekannt. Er bekam die Kategorie der über 25-Jährigen zugeteilt und gewann den Wettbewerb zweimal in Folge. Seinen Ausstieg aus der TV-Talentshow begründete er mit seinem Hauptberuf als Jazzmusiker, der wieder seine ungeteilte Aufmerksamkeit verdiene.

Als vollendeter Musiker bestreitet Brönner internationale Konzerttourneen mit seinen zahlreichen Ensembles, darunter sein Duo (mit Bassist Dieter Ilg), sein Septett und (seit 2015) das 20-köpfige Till Brönner Orchestra, sowie sein Projekt mit dem klassischen Trompeter Sergei Nakariakow. Er spielt regelmäßig auf den wichtigsten Bühnen der Welt, etwa in der Carnegie Hall in New York und im Blue Note Jazz Club in Tokio oder bei führenden Jazzfestivals. 2015 wurde Brönner zum International Jazz Day nach Paris eingeladen, der auf eine Initiative der Vereinten Nationen und Herbie Hancock zurückgeht, und trat dort mit weiteren Stars der internationalen Jazz-Szene auf. Beim International Jazz Day 2016 ist er unter anderem mit Herbie Hancock, Sting, Aretha Franklin, Diana Krall, Al Jarreau, Hugh Masekela, Buddy Guy und Chick Corea im Weißen Haus vor Barack Obama aufgetreten.

Seit 2010 arbeitet Brönner verstärkt auch als Fotograf. Seine Portraits, die er meist mit einer „Leica M“ Kamera fotografiert, sind Ende 2014 in dem Bildband „Faces of Talent“ (teNeues Verlag) erschienen.

Seit 2013 ist Till Brönner Partner und Testimonial für den deutschen Herrenausstatter EDUARD DRESSLER.

Zurück